eight Manipur players

The Chief Minister of Manipur previously announced the honour of Rs. 5 Lakh to each of the eight Manipur players who got selected for the Under-17 Indian football team. On 16th October, Biren Singh handed over the cheques to the players for their great performance in U-17 Football World Cup. The eight players are star goalkeeper Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, the captain Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Md. Shah Jahan, Boris Singh Thangjam, Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Ningthoinganba Meitei and Nongdamba Naorem. Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla was also there and appreciated the game and spirit of these eight players from the state.

CM handed over Cheques of Rs. 5L each to eight Manipur players

While conferring the bouquets and shawls, Heptulla interacted with the players and parents. It’s heartening that eight members of the national U-17 squad are from the state. Governor said, she will encourage the football at the commercial level like cricket. She also assured for the establishment of a world-class football ground in the state so that the football can be promoted to world level. Another point to support the sports was of the sports university in Manipur to help sportsperson, especially from poor families.

The world cup players said that they played three matches against USA, Colombia, and Ghana and lost all the three but learned many skill and experience more other things. It is the 17th U-17 World Cup organised by the FIFA (International Federation of Association Football). India is hosting the tournament from 6th to 28th October in which twenty-three teams, besides of Indian participated in the tournament. The matches would be arranged in the six stadiums and the final match will be conducted at the salt lake stadium in Kolkata. India won the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup hosting rights on 5 December 2013, announced by FIFA.

The chief minister – Biren was also a great football player as he had played for BSF 1979 as an 18-year-old, reports by TOI.

Tags: ,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here